When it comes to forming a business in the state of Texas, there are a variety of legal forms and documents to fill out and submit. This can prove to be a challenging and time-consuming process, especially when you’re anxious about launching a business. At National Registered Agents, Inc., we can assist you by handling your Texas registered agent and business needs in a cost-effective and efficient manner.
Our registered agent services range from helping our clients sustain their corporate status to promptly informing them of important filing dates. Learn more about NRAI’s registered agent services by calling (800) 520-6724 and one of our knowledgeable representatives will answer your questions regarding our registered agent services in Texas or use our quick quote form. Below you will find information about what is needed to start a business in Texas.
If you’re considering starting a Limited Liability Company in Texas, there are a few important things to remember. By law, all companies must have a Texas registered agent. The terms “Limited Liability Company” or “Limited Company” or the acronyms “L.L.C.,” “LLC,” “LC,” or “L.C.” have to be within the company name. The acronym “LTD” or Ltd.” is allowed when referring to the term “Limited”. Additionally, the acronym “Co.” may be used for “Company”.
A company name may be reserved for a total of 120 days. There is a $40 filing fee. One advantage of forming an LLC in Texas is that it can be formed by more than one individual over the age of 18.
Texas Filing Requirements include one original and one executed copy of the Articles of Organization along with the Certificate of Organization. This must be submitted to the Secretary of State, and then you will receive a copy of the evidence of formation (a taxpayer questionnaire). Submit this form to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. The taxpayer questionnaire is used to figure out your company’s franchise tax responsibility in Texas.
The fees involving the Articles of Organization include a $300 filing fee. Checks should be made out to the Texas Secretary of State.
If your company is incorporated in another state, but you would like to do business in Texas, you must also assign a Texas registered agent. When forming a Limited Liability Company, you have a total of 120 days to reserve a company name. The terms “Limited Liability Company” or “Limited Company” or the acronyms “L.L.C.,” “LLC,” “LC” or “L.C.” must be included in the company name. When referring to the term “Company” you may use the acronym “Co”. For the term “Limited” you may use the acronym “Ltd.”. All companies are required to have a registered agent.
You must submit one executed copy and one original copy of the Application for Certificate Authority. After receiving the evidence of registration (Texas Nexus Questionnaire), you must send this document to the Comptroller of Public Accounts, Franchise Setups and Data Corrections Section. These documents are needed in order to figure out your company’s franchise tax responsibility to the state.
Make sure you include the $750 filing fee for the Application for Certificate of Authority and make the check out to the Texas Secretary of State.
A corporation in Texas is also required to have a registered agent in Texas. When registering a name, you must include “Company,” “Incorporated,” or “Corporation” --acronyms are allowed. Individuals can reserve a company name through the Secretary of State for the amount of $40. You are allowed 120 days to file.
When a company name is unavailable or already taken, you may operate your business under a different name. This is known as a DBA (doing business as). You must submit an Application for Certificate of Authority under the assumed name. The next step is to file one executed and one acknowledged copy of the Assumed Name Certificate for a Profession or Incorporated Business. The filing fee is $25.
You must file one executed and acknowledged copy to the County Clerk in the same county where the corporation is registered in Texas. Also, submit another executed and acknowledged copy to the County Clerk where the office is located in the state. However, it can’t be in the same county of the registered office. Filing procedures include submitting an executed copy and original of Application for Certificate of Authority to the Secretary of State.
Upon receipt of your evidence of qualification (Texas Nexus Questionnaire), you must submit a Franchise Setups and Data Corrections Section to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. This determines your company’s tax responsibility to the state. There is a $750 filing fee. Make a check out to the Texas Secretary of State.
If you’re considering forming a corporation, the name of your company must include the following: “Company,” “Incorporated,” or “Corporation” --acronyms are allowed. You can reserve your company name for 120 days. There is a $40 filing fee. A registered agent in Texas is also required.
When it comes to Minimum Paid in Capital & Authorized Shares, there is no maximum or minimum amount of authorized shares because Texas incorporation fees aren’t based on the share structure of a company. The State of Texas minimum paid in capital required in order to run a business is a total of $1,000. There is a minimum of one director and one incorporator and you must be 18 years of age or older.
The filing procedures require you to submit one executed original and one copy of the Articles of Incorporation submitted to Texas Secretary of State. A copy of your Certificate of Incorporation will be returned to you. The next step is to submit a copy of the evidence of formation (the Texas Taxpayer Questionnaire) to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. The taxpayer questionnaire is used to figure out your company’s franchise tax responsibility. The filing fee is $300 and the check should be written out to Texas Secretary of State.
For more information about starting a business in Texas, Click here.